Toasted Sesame Coconut Cookies

29 Jul

Did you read my intro post? Good. Then you know I spend my days working in a bakery, making absolutely scrumptious pastries that I do my best to avoid eating. When a broken cookie or a slightly-smashed cupcake is staring at me from the end of the counter, it’s hard to look it in the eye and say “NO!”, but I’ve spent the last year strengthening my willpower. However, some treats are harder to resist than others. I have my favorites that give me a particularly devilish stare. One of those is the cupcake we recently developed based on those sesame seed balls stuffed with sweetened coconut found at Asian restaurants. Something about the pop and crunch of those little sesame seeds…the buttery nuttiness of toasting them…oh my!

When this delectable sesame cupcake appeared on the menu a couple weeks back, and I didn’t sneak one single bite, I knew I had to reward myself with a sesame-laden paleo treat when I got home.

IMGP9974

These Toasted Sesame Coconut Cookies are wonderfully chewy, delightfully nutty, and perfectly sweet. I brought them along to girls night with my coworkers and this honest group of taste-testers loved them. The leftovers were apparently eaten for breakfast…

IMGP9976-2

Toasted Sesame Coconut Cookies

© 2013 Carly Sullivan, The Lucky Clover Kitchen

Yield: 10-12 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened desiccated coconut (like this)
  • 2 Tbsp coconut flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl or stand mixer, combine the almond flour, coconut, coconut flour, salt and baking soda.
  3. Add the melted coconut oil, honey and vanilla and mix to combine.
  4. Scoop the dough into golf ball-sized rounds. Roll in the sesame seeds, then press down to flatten into a 1/4-inch thick disc on the parchment-lined baking sheets. Continue with the remaining dough, leaving about an inch of space around each cookie to allow for spreading.
  5. Bake until golden, about 10 minutes. Let cool on pan completely before removing with a spatula. The cookies are very delicate when warm so do not try to move them before they are cool.
  6. Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to one week. The cookies can also be frozen once baked, simply allow to thaw at room temperature for one hour before eating. Enjoy!

IMGP9981

2 Responses to “Toasted Sesame Coconut Cookies”

  1. Jackie October 9, 2013 at 6:25 PM #

    I’m busy stalking your blog, I just remembered how amazing these are and they are paleo vegan so I HAVE to make them for my sisters the next time I go up to Seattle 😉

  2. stacey December 12, 2013 at 1:10 PM #

    loved this recipe – was out of coconut flour so I used quinoa flour instead – turned out great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

