Okonomiyaki: Savory Japanese Cabbage Pancakes

26 Aug

I bought the most ridiculously enormous head of cabbage at the farmers market a couple weekends ago. As in quite a lot larger than my head– and for only $3! I had no plans in mind for that cabbage, but it was just so darn big and beautiful so I added it to my market tote and brought it home.

There was barely room in my fridge for it.

IMGP0123

If you’ve never heard of Okonomiyaki I’m sure you’re not alone. I’ve only had it once before, when my boyfriend and I went out to dinner at the delicious Portland restaurant Departure. The savory pancake was salty and tender, laden with pork belly and shrimp…and obviously packed with tons of gluten. I only indulged in a couple bites and left the rest for my boyfriend to gobble up.

IMGP0151

My version is probably nowhere near traditional. Well, it’s obviously not, since it’s made with almond flour and coconut aminos. But it’s stilled packed with cabbage, oniony scallions, spicy ginger and yummy pork, and it makes for a fantastic snack, an energizing breakfast, or a base for any meal. I’m in love with these savory pancakes! So much so that I ate up the first batch all last week and just whipped myself up another batch to enjoy this week.

I still have half that cabbage left…

IMGP0148

Okonomiyaki

© Copyright 2013 Carly Sullivan, The Lucky Clover Kitchen

Serves: 10-12

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 cups finely shredded green cabbage (I used a mandolin, but you can manage with a knife too)
  • 1 bunch scallions (about 6), finely sliced
  • 2-3 strips bacon, finely diced
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1 Tbsp coconut aminos
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 tsp sriracha (or more if you like it spicy)
  • 1 tsp freshly grated ginger root

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet, cook the bacon over medium heat until crisp and most of the fat is rendered. Using a slotted spoon, remove the bacon from the pan and add to a large mixing bowl. Pour the rendered bacon fat into a small bowl (you’ll use it to cook the pancakes).
  2. To the same large bowl, add the shredded cabbage and scallions.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients. Pour over cabbage mixture and stir to combine.
  4. Heat the same skillet over medium heat and add a little bacon fat. Scoop the cabbage mixture in 1/3-1/2-cupfuls and spread the mixture slightly to flatten. Let cook a couple minutes until golden, then flip and cook another minute or two on the other side. Remove to a plate.
  5. Continue with remaining batter, adding more bacon fat to the pan as needed. (Note: the cabbage will release water as it sits, so stir it up again every so often so the mixture is evenly combined.)
  6. Serve okonomiyaki warm on their own or with pretty much anything! Enjoy!

IMGP0124

IMGP0134

IMGP0136

2 Responses to “Okonomiyaki: Savory Japanese Cabbage Pancakes”

  1. lonaj68 August 26, 2013 at 6:25 PM #

    oh yum. I tried something similar at a market once and thought it was great. But these look heaps nicer. Thanks for posting the recipe. Could be part of tonights dinner.

    • carlysulli August 26, 2013 at 6:45 PM #

      Let me know what you think if you try it!

Leave a Reply

